IN what was a typical postcard sunny Queensland afternoon at the Gold Coast’s picturesque Broadbeach Bowls Club, World Bowls president John Bell officially activated this year’s world junior championships.

A superb showcase of the world’s best 18-25 year-olds saw 39 young stars from no fewer than sixteen bowling nations in the opening ceremony spotlight. Over the ensuing six days of competition these future stars will ply their skills in two games of 21-up singles, then two rounds of mixed pairs over 18 ends, each day.

Defending men’s singles champion Ryan Burnett (pictured) will be the lone Scottish representative in the field, while last year’s women’s champion Kristina Krstic from Australia was unable to attend due to university commitments.

However, the field is simply loaded with star performers including last year’s Australian Open singles champions Ellen Ryan and Aaron Teys from Australia, while 2014 women’s singles champion Chloe Stewart is another of the strong Australian contingent at Broadbeach.

Recent World Cup bronze medallist Pricilla Westlake from Canada is certain to feature, as will Japan’s rangy Kenta Hasebe.

Others certain to be visible at the business end of these championships include Jarrad Breen from Wales, Scott Jess from Ireland and Australians Aaron Wilson and Corey Wedlock.

In the women’s field locals Natasha Jones and Jamie-Lee Worsnop will be strong, as will Malaysia’s Auni Kamis and New Zealand’s Katelyn Inch.

The 20-player men’s field comprises: Sean Ingham, Corey Wedlock, Aaron Wilson, Aaron Teys (Australia), Cameron Lefresne, Grant Wilkie (Canada), Lawrence Paniani, Taiki Paniani (Cook Islands), Connor Rabey (Guernsey), Jason Choi, Arthur Lam (Hong Kong China), Scott Jess (Ireland), Kenta Hasebe (Japan), Ross Davis (Jersey), Budriz Mustakim, Izzat Shameer (Malaysia), Mitch Voigts (Namibia), Sheldon Bagrie-Howley (New Zealand), Ryan Burnett (Scotland) and Jarrad Breen (Wales).

The women’s line-up is: Dawn Hayman, Natasha Jones, Ellen Ryan, Chloe Stewart, Jamie-Lee Worsnop (Australia), Jaymee Sidel, Pricilla Westlake, Stirling Wood (Canada), Yvonne Pouao, Emma Tupekea (Cook Islands), Nicola Fatiaki (Fiji), Sophie Rabey (Guernsey), Amy Choi, Vivian Yip (Hong Kong China), Rajasvi Panwar (India), Auni Kamis, Syafiqa Rahman (Malaysia), Katelyn Inch (New Zealand) and Melanie Thomas (Wales).

All welcome. Play commences at 9.30 am daily and admission is free.