Board Structure

President & CEO

John Bell
John BellPresident
World Bowls Director for Europe 2012 – 2014.
Represented England between 1978 and 1998 worldwide winning: 4 World titles, 1 European, 4 British Isles, and 6 National titles. Performance Director for 2010 and 2014 England Commonwealth Games Team in Delhi and Glasgow– with 24 of 27 players involved winning medals. England Team Manager from 2000 until Present. Life member of Bowls England and Cumbria Bowling Association. Former Head of Tourism for Carlisle City Council.
Gary Smith
Gary SmithCEO
Chief Executive since the formation of World Bowls in 2001.
Previously Bank Manager with Barclays Bank and a Marketing Manager of the Bowls Division of a global sports equipment company.
Represented both England and Scotland in an international bowling career covering over three decades, gaining over 100 caps. Numerous national and international indoor and outdoor titles. World Indoor Pairs champion and a Commonwealth Games Pairs Medallist.

Board Members

John McArdle
John McArdleRegional Director
Regional Director for Africa and the Americas and supporting the following countries: Africa, Botswana, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, USA

Regional Director World Bowls 2012- Present.
Previous administrations: Chairman-Eskom Rosherville Club 1982 – 1997, President-Near East Rand Bowls 1997-1999, President Bowls-South Africa 2001-2005, President-African Bowls 2001-2005, Deputy President-World Bowls 2006-2008, President-World Bowls 2008-2012, Vice President-CMSB 2008-2012

Holds Life Memberships: Eskom Club Rosherville, Federation of Eskom Clubs, Alberton Bowling Club, Near East Rand Bowls, Erkuhuleni Bowls, Bowls South Africa, World Bowls.

Garry Collins
Garry CollinsRegional Director
Regional Director for Europe and representing: Cyprus, England, France, Guernsey, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Jersey, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Turkey and Wales.

Represented Guernsey internationally for 15 years and been a sports administrator for 19 years, he was President of the British Isles Bowls Council in 2015 and currently a Director of the Guernsey Commonwealth Games Association. Previous careers in banking, accounting and works part-time for a Trust Company in Guernsey. Elected onto his local parish and holds public office.